Department of Chemical Pathology

Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria - Nigeria

History of Chemical Pathology

The Department was established in 1968 when the authorities of Ahmadu Bello University took over the State General Hospital, Zaria to serve as the nucleus for the Teaching Hospital. The Pathology department of the then Hospital also served as the nucleus of the present Laboratory medicine services. The first Head of Department at the takeover was Fredric Nicholson, a Professor of Chemical Pathology from Canada. He was also the first Dean of Faculty of Medicine of this University. Nicholas left in 1970 and Alan F. Fleming, a Professor of Haematology, acted briefly as Head of Pathology Unit until George Edington, a Professor of Pathology arrived to take over as substantive Head of Pathology services. From the year 1969-1970, the Pathology Department was re-organized into separate divisions of Chemical Pathology, Haematology and Blood Transfusion, Histopathology (Morbid Anatomy) and Medical Microbiology and Parasitology.

    Current and Past HOD's

  1. Professor P.C. Suvarnabai 1981-1987
  2. Professor IOK Udeozo 1987-1990
  3. Professor Hassan S Isah 1990-2003
  4. Dr. Isah A. Yahaya 2003-2005
  5. Professor I.S. Aliyu 2005-2013
  6. Dr. Rasheed Yusuf 2014-2017
  7. Dr. Jibril Mohammed El-Bashir 2017-Date